So, OK. I finally did it. Registered and immediately started to explore. Trying to talk to all characters I meet I discovered very quickly that I need to get a job. My husband could say that too, since I have been playing hours per day… But to justify, well, playing is part of my job now. Ha! Lucky me!

So I started to explore second life jobs and discovered the best job ever: you are being paid just to go and visit places. Isn’t this a fantastic advertising trick? I haven’t started this job yet, because I need to be “at least 3 weeks old” and I am only 3 days old. But I think it’s going to be very nice. After all, isn’t this why I am there?

Well, not quite. The main reason that brought me there, apart from plain curiosity, is the desire to learn how to apply the virtual world techniques into education.

I got this idea after watching a presentation by Sarah “Intellagirl” Robbins (click here to view, I am referring to slide 65), where she describes her experience in educating students on a social situation they might never have experienced if it hadn’t been for Second Life.Slide65, Sarah Robbins\' Presentation

Seems like I have a long long way to go before I can create a situation like that, but really, it is interesting to find out what other things you can teach with Second Life that you could never have taught before.